Summer in Narnia

My name is Julia-Scott Dawson, and I am a member of All Saints Church! I am also a sophomore in college at the University of North Carolina, majoring in Communications and Peace War & Defense.

I am Mexican, and was adopted as a baby. I have a huge heart for the people of Latin America, and have been on several mission trips where I acted as a VBS teacher and translator. One of the things I love about All Saints Church is how close it is to Oak Creek Village. It offers such a wonderful opportunity to build relationships with people of other cultures, and share the love of Christ with them. As a former Eagles’ Nest tutor, I have seen firsthand the immense need that the children of Oak Creek village have for good literature. Many of them have a difficult time doing their homework, simply because English is not their first language. And if they do read well, their comprehension of the material is often limited.

I chose The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe for several reasons. First, it has been one of my favorite books since childhood, and I have many fond memories of reading it together with my family, and at church when I was in 4th grade. Second, C.S. Lewis does a marvelous job of creating a fantasy novel that is deeply infused with the gospel.  And the children of Oak Creek Village need the gospel. In creating this program, I have been inspired by Matthew 19:14, where Jesus said to his disciples, “let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.”

Doing a program like this has been a dream of mine since I was 8 years old! I have always had a huge heart for international missions, but serving a need so close to home is equally exciting. In addition to offering this program, I would love to give all the kids their own copy of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe!

The summer program will kick-off this Wednesday, June 6, from 4-6. Once school is out, we will meet every Wednesday from 2-4 pm throughout the summer (June 13 to August 1). In addition to the Oak Creek kids, I would LOVE to invite any of the children from All Saints to come and participate. It would be awesome to develop friendships on both sides!

We will be reading aloud, having a Bible lesson, playing games, doing crafts, and eating healthy snacks. Periodically, we will also watch excerpts from the movie!  All in all, my goal is to share the gospel with the children of Oak Creek Village and the children of All Saints Church, with the added bonus of doing so through wonderful literature!

So I’m super excited about this opportunity to love on these kids, and hope you are too! Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, or if you just want to talk. Join us for the kick-off party this Wednesday, June 6, from 4-6 in the Annex!

Julia-Scott Dawson 

919.884.9462

Allsaints.narnia@yahoo.com

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

