In Their Own Words: A Refugee from Ethiopia – This post is from one of our local missions partners Word Relief

In Their Own Words: A Refugee From Ethiopia

Posted on October 26, 2011 by wrdurham

Dahir Bedel had been in America for ten days at the time of the interview. The views expressed do not represent those of World Relief Durham or any affiliated partner.

Where are you from?

My nationality is from Somalia, but I just say I am from Ethiopia. I have been living in Ethiopia almost 20 years. I traveled from Somalia when I was three years old in 1991, when the central Somali government had already collapsed. So I have been living there since I come. So I just say I am from Ethiopia. I have been living in a refugee camp in Ethiopia.

Can you talk about what the refugee camp was like?

The refugee camp is located in a very small town…in eastern Ethiopia… almost near to the Somalia border. The life is very difficult there. There are almost more than 18,000 families of refugees. I started my basic life there, I enrolled in the school in Ethiopia. Ethiopian schools are very difficult. The curriculum, based on their language called Harari, also their form of writing is different from Latin, it’s not the Latin [the Somali language uses a Latin Script]. So in Ethiopia, it’s very difficult to live in a refugee camp.

How did you feel when you first came to America? Were you excited?

Very, very excited to come to America. Because America is a very large country, also democratic. So you can live, and you can learn, and everything is better. Very much.

What is one thing you wished American people knew about refugees?

I want to tell them that refugees, every person when he comes first in America, there’s culture adjustment. He may not be expecting that America is like this. In America all the people are helping you, all the people are smiling, everybody’s happy, not Ethiopia like this. Very simple, like, “excuse me, sorry,” –everybody’s saying it in America. This is wonderful. You cannot see these kind of things in Ethiopia. At least you may see most of the people, you might think that all of them are angry… There are circumstances, most of them based on war, that they came here, for this sentiment.

When you came to America ten days ago, what did you think about the country? Was it what you expected?

I’ve been expecting that it’s a very big country, there’s… a diversity of culture, religion, everything. I became happy when I came first. Also in Ethiopia they say there is a diversity of culture, religion, like this—it’s not like this in Ethiopia….In America I think there is a full democracy, so I am happy.

What would you want to tell other people in your refugee camp about coming to America?

They may have a conception about America when they are in the refugee camp. They may think America is like this, like this. There is snow, there is people. There may be some radical idea they believe, especially about the Muslim. The Muslims, they have, not all of them, some have a radical idea about America, that America are chasing Muslim countries, destroying Muslim countries. They do believe such, a small amount of people do believe this. But I am going to tell them that thing is not real…Also they know the humanity. They are welcoming all refugees, I think. Now, I know many religious people, those from Iraq, Afghanistan, many other countries. So I am going to tell them that there is a democracy in America, so I hope they will be happy when they come. They will see when they come.

What idea do people in your country have of America?

A number of people in Ethiopia and Somalia are very eager to go to America… A number of people in Ethiopia and in the refugee camp, a number of Somali people are very eager to come to America, especially the youth, because they want to get a basic education. Also a better life. So a number of people are very eager to come.

Are you looking for a job?

Still I am ten days here, still I haven’t getting my social security. As soon as I get my social security card, I will look for a job.

Did you come here with your family?

Almost all of my family were killed in the Somalia civil war in 1998. I was the only one who survived from an attack in our house. So my father, brothers, mother were killed there. So I lived with another family, those were our neighbors… so I have no other family but they raised me, so they are my family, but they didn’t come still in America.

Are they going to come?

Yes, they are in the process.

There are numerous ways to get involved with World Relief – Durham. Talk with ASC members Joe and Teri Adleman about their experience with World Relief and about how to get involved! To find out more about World Relief – Durham visit their website.

Leave a comment

Filed under Evangelism, Fellowship, International Mission, Local Missions, Oak Creek Village Partnership, World Relief

Leave a Reply

