Virginia McCray reflects on her upcoming ordination to the diaconate

God is Faithful

My heart is filled with gratitude to God and to All Saints Church as I reflect on this journey toward ordination a year and a half ago.  I remember standing in the Narthex after church one Sunday and talking with Steve about feeling a call to ministry and he asked, “Have you ever thought about becoming a deacon?” Little did I know then how that question would begin to shape my life and ministry. My initial response was negative as I was just unfamiliar with the office of a deacon and the process involved. But something inside me told me to pray and to be open.  And as I prayed and sought counsel and advice from others, I kept hearing a definitive ‘yes’ in my spirit.

The decision wasn’t an easy one and misunderstood by some but nonetheless the Lord kept spurring me on, encouraging me to pursue this path, no matter the outcome. There were times along the way when I felt the process would never end but every step stretched me differently, strengthening my calling to ministry and the gifts God has given me.  I am so grateful for my Parish Discernment Team and I want to publicly thank them again: Paul Marvin, Martha Vetter, Robin Dawson, Marge Gillings, Barbara Beasley and Mary Lois Partridge. Over a span of six hours, they lovingly asked me tough questions about my life, my insecurities and my sense of calling to ministry. They pushed me when I needed it while loving and affirming me all at the same time.

I can honestly say that I would not be where I am today, on the brink of diaconal ordination, without the love and support of all those at All Saints. You are the ones who stood beside me when I wept and was discouraged, you were the ones who loved me through my times of uncertainty and spoke truth into my life about who I am in Christ and that it is HIS power that works in me. As I nervously prayed to God the night before my Theological Examination (which took 8 ½ hours!) I remember hearing God whisper in my ear the familiar words from 1 Cor. 1: 26f

“Consider your own call, brothers and sisters: not many of you were wise by human standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth.  But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong;  God chose what is low and despised in the world, things that are not, to reduce to nothing things that are, so that no one might boast in the presence of God.”

What a beautiful reminder it was to me that God chose this path for me and He would be the one to see it to completion as long as I was faithful and did my part. I do not know all the things God has for me in the future but I do know that, “The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.” (I Thess. 5:24).

– Virginia

Join us for the Ordination Service this Sunday evening, September 18th @ 5 pm at All Saints. Virginia will be ordained with Brad Acton, Donnie McDaniel and three others from our region. Please pray for Virginia and the others as they prepare their hearts this week to be ordained and come celebrate what the Spirit is doing. Call the church office with any questions.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

