Friday, December 24

AM Psalm 45, 46
Isa. 35:1-10; Rev. 22:12-17,21; Luke 1:67-80

Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth andteach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long. (Psalm 25:4-5)

I wonder what it was like for the generations of God’s chosen people to wait and wait and wait for the promised Messiah: all those who lived and died inthe years between the prophets of the Old Testament and the arrival of John the Baptist finally proclaiming the news that “the kingdom of heaven is at hand” (Matthew 3:2).

I, too, find myself in a place of waiting. I’ve been here before and I don’t like it. But, here I am and God has brought me here, so I will wait for him – and with him – as he does his work in me. I know it’s a time of preparation. In past seasons of waiting, there has been healing, a stripping away of those things that have been between me and the Lord, a spiritual house-cleaning.

Prior to this, I have enjoyed a long, unprecedented season of sweet communion with the Lord – a time of open communication almost along the lines of “downloading.” It’s difficult– painful, really – to come from that place of green pastures and fresh breezes to a place that feels arid and lonely. But I know this Waiting Place is holy ground and anywhere God is working is where I choose to be.

Just as there was “darkness over the face of the deep” (Genesis 1:2) at the time of creation, the Spirit of God was “hovering.” Just as there was silence from the likes of the prophets in the Old Testament, God’s Spirit was still hovering and at work preparing the way for Messiah’s birth. Just as there was darkness in the hearts of mankind, the Light of the World “became flesh and dwelt among us” (John 1:14). Here in my Waiting Place, even though my light feels a little dim and my quiet time with the Lord can be a little too quiet, I know the Holy Spirit is hovering, preparing and shining his light in my darkness. I will try to wait expectantly because God has shown me his faithfulness and love. He is making me to know his ways, leading me in his truth and teaching me. He is the God of my salvation and for him I will wait all the day long.

-Barbara Beasley

Leave a comment

Filed under Advent, Discipleship, Gospels and Acts, Prayer, Prophets, Saints, The Holy Spirit, Worship

Leave a Reply

